Grateful for everything I do not have

I am so grateful  I do not always get what I want

so grateful to have my heart broken from time to time.

I am so grateful for the text I did not receive

so grateful for the pain I was not spared.

I am so grateful for the friends I do not have

so grateful for the conversations I never had.

I am so grateful for the losses  I did not suffer

and so grateful for the gains I did not get.

I am so grateful because it makes me who I am today,

because it breaks me

because that opens me

because it allows me to understand

it allows me to be a better friend

a better lover

and a better sibling

Because it means I am still alive and kicking,

living.

Leave a Reply

