Between friendship and relationship freedom is found

“In true love, you attain freedom”– Thich Nhat Hanh

“When you reach the end of what you should know, you will be at the beginning of what you should sense” – Kahlil Gibran

“No man can reveal to you aught but that which lies already half asleep in the dawning of your knowledge.” – Kahlil Gibran

In my first love, I was liberated from the loneliness of wanting to be on my own. I was liberated by my longing to be with the other, my longing to have them in my life and my longing to express the love I felt. In my first love I was also liberated from the notion that love should always be reciprocated. Instead I was handed the possibility of learning to love beyond possession, to give out love without expecting anything in return and to accept this one-sidedness. I was liberated from the idea that love can only be a gift when it can be fully expressed and instead I was taught that the mere presence of love is a gift above and beyond its’ expression. In this love, I learned the depths of my heart and my soul and saw how much more love I could contain than I ever thought was possible.

Though I was liberated many times in my first love, it was not until my second love that I learned love can literally equal freedom. In this second love, I am learning that to be totally free is to be loved beyond borders and that to be loved beyond borders is to be totally free. In this love I am experiencing that not to be needed for any form of support allows you to be fully present with love and fully giving of love, without fear, pride or pressure. I have experienced the creation of space, the expansion of my soul, in order to allow this person to be part of my Being. In this love I am free for I know that the presence of love is independent of the things I say or the things I do, and thus love will not leave me except for when it would be of love’s own volition. I am learning what it feels like to be seen for who I am and to be able to see the other exactly as they are. And in this love I am liberated of the idea that love is greater when captured in a relationship. I am taught that catching love and naming her might also restrict her presence. I am learning that between friendship and relationship you can find a love that is spacious enough to set you free, a love that is freedom. And in that total freedom it feels like my presence is wanted the most.

“Love rests on no foundation. It is an endless ocean, with no beginning or end” – Rumi

And in that ocean, that freedom, the strongest bond is found. A bond that finds its’ strength in the pure enjoyment of being together, without any conditions and without any form of reciprocal support. Just the delight of sharing this existence on earth.

That is love, that is freedom. Love is freedom and freedom is love. It needs no other form, no other name, because nothing else you can think of is so strong and so stable as the love that is freedom.

With all my love,

Me

Leave a Reply

